IN CELEBRATION OF LOIS GILLERAN

I couldn’t quite find the right words for this post. Anything that needs saying from me is said through the photographs. So I asked my dear friend Emerald to share some words about her grandma Lois.

Some may not comprehend the beauty of capturing a funeral in photos. To some, moments kindred to death may assume too morbid, too dark, too much to want to share. I beg to differ, having Alicia there that day is a gift we cherish, not only for her support as a dear friend, but also to help my family remember the celebration of my grandma’s life in such a memorable fashion. The pictures are naturally exquisite, as my grandma was. The surreality sinks in; the fact that she is gone, because I spent last year living with my grandparents. I feel her with me all of the time. Among a million things she had a gentle yet contagious laugh, a roaring sense of humor shared only with those in earshot, worries that would attract your care, and a heart full of faith that only knew to give. If I am blessed to grow to resemble anyone, I pray it be Lois Gilleran. They just don’t make ’em like that anymore. I will remember our love forever and am grateful for sharing the journey of my favorite angel.

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

© Alicia Watkinson 2013

One thought on “IN CELEBRATION OF LOIS GILLERAN

  1. These photos are so beautiful! Great job, Alicia! And Em’s words were wonderful! I miss you both!

Leave a Reply

