SERENDIPTY

Jonathan: How’d you find this place?
Sara: I first came in because of the name: Serendipity. It’s one of my favorite words.
Jonathan: It is? Why?
Sara: It’s such a nice sounding word for what it means: a fortunate accident.

Serendipity has been kind enough to make an appearance in my life a lot lately. Mostly in the experiences I’ve encountered with photography. Each event, every person I have met. They are all linked to one another and have lead me to where I stand today. Or where I sit now, in front of this computer writing out my very first blog post. Where do I even begin?

Connecting the dots.

Filling in the gaps.

Sharing my “serendipitous” journey.

Lets not forget some photos in there as well.

That seems as good as any place to start.

It was the summer of 2008. I was about to begin my sophomore year of college with still no idea of what career I wanted to pursue. I needed to find something I was passionate about, something that let me express myself creatively, something that I would LOVE doing for the rest of my life. Photography became the answer.

First step: networking. What better place to start out then with a photographer from your hometown? I emailed Cindy Cieluch in hopes that would she take me under her wing, and she did just that. Cindy and I started meeting for coffee whenever I was back in Great Falls. She became my mentor, I looked up to her in every way. I was inspired. Then she shot this engagement session. I was even more inspired and not to mention completely in love with the building. I wanted to know where it was. Wanted to have some sort of connection with it. I never asked where it was, but every time I was back in town I searched for the building. I traveled up and down alleys, yet never came across it.

Fast forward three years. I graduated from The University of Montana and was about to begin my internship with Cindy. All those emails and coffee dates had paid off! The only thing left to do was find a place to live. I hadn’t had any time to travel to Great Falls to search for an apartment so I sent my mom out hunting. I came across a listing on Craigslist for a studio apartment in the downtown area. It was perfect and just three blocks away from where I would be working. My mom checked it out, approved, and there I had it. My first apartment in which I would be living completely on my own. No roommates, no sister, just myself. With everything packed up, I left Missoula to start a new chapter.

You know those moments in life, the ones that let you know you are right where you are supposed to be?  What happened next was one of those brief periods of time in which I had absolutely no doubt that I was on the right track.

I arrived in Great Falls, pulled into the designated parking lot of my apartment building and couldn’t believe what I saw. The “Serendipity” building. There it had been all along. Just waiting for me to discover it by accident.

4 thoughts on “SERENDIPTY

  1. Is there any greater feeling than life just coming right out with it, and offering up every bit of confirmation you need. I truly believe these serendipitous occasions happen because we’ve lived a life worthy of that great energy. You emit the most amazingly pure light, and it is no doubt that positive attractive force drawing near to you all you want and need. I’m already hooked on your blog 🙂

  2. Ahhh, Alicia, this is such a great start. And you were so worried about writing a blog! You’re a natural. Now let’s see some pictures! I know everyone’s dying to see what you got 🙂

Leave a Reply

